Code of Ethics and Standard Conducts for nurses in Brunei

Code of Ethics


  • Relevant to all levels of nurses and midwives and areas of practice including those encompassing clinical, management, education and research domains.
  • Outlines the ethical standards expected and required of nurses and midwives practicing in the unique multi cultural context of Brunei as well as the profession’s intention to accept the rights of clients and to uphold these rights in practice.


  • Identify the fundamental ethical standards and values of the nursing and midwifery profession,
  • Provide a basis for professional and self reflection on ethical conduct,
  • Guide ethical decision making and practice, and
  • Indicate to the community the ethical values which nurses and midwives are expected to hold.


  1. Respect client’s needs, values, culture, religion, beliefs and vulnerability in the provision of care.
  2. Provide safe, compassionate and ethical care to all.
  3. Promote and respect informed decision-making in providing care.
  4. Be accountable and responsible in the profession.
  5. Maintain privacy and confidentiality of all clients.
  6. Preserve client’s dignity.
  7. Promote justice through equality.

Code of Professional Conduct for nurses in Brunei


  • Professional conduct refers to the manner in which nurses and midwives behave while acting in a professional capacity.
  • The Code of Professional Conduct for Registered Nurses and Midwifes in Brunei Darussalam is a set of expected national standards of conduct for nurses and midwives.
  • The profession expects that all levels of nurses and midwives will conduct themselves personally and professionally in a way that will maintain strong public confidence and care excellence in the profession.
  • Nurses and midwives have a responsibility to provide safe and competent care which is responsive to the individual, family, community needs and the profession.


  • set an expected national standard of conduct for the nursing and midwifery profession;
  • inform the community of the standards for professional conduct of nurses and midwives in Brunei Darussalam ; and
  • provides consumer, regulatory, employing and professional bodies with a basis for decisions regarding standards of professional conduct for nurses and midwives in Brunei Darussalam.

EIGHT (8) PRINCIPLES ON THE CODE OF PROFESSIONAL CONDUCTAs a nurse or midwife, you are personally accountable for your practice. In caring for clients, you must :

  1. Respect their dignity, culture, ethnicity, values, religion and beliefs of client in the provision of nursing and midwifery care;
  2. Practice in a safe and competent manner;
  3. Obtain informed consent before giving any treatment or care;
  4. Treat personal information obtained in a professional capacity as private and confidential;
  5. Co-operate with others in the health care team;
  6. Maintain professional knowledge and competence;
  7. Practice reflectively and ethically;
  8. Practice in accordance with the legislations of Brunei Darussalam and the Malay Islamic Monarchy or ‘Melayu Islam Beraja (MIB)’ philosophy.

Core Competency Standards for Registered Nurses and Midwives in Brunei


This Core Competency Standards for Registered Nurses and Midwives in Brunei Darussalam is developed for nurses and midwives who are registered with the Nursing Board for Brunei. Each registered nurses and midwives are expected to act at all times, in a manner to justify public trust and confidence, to uphold the reputation of the profession and above all to provide quality and safe patient care. These standards are relevant to all level of nurses and midwives and areas of practice including those encompassing clinical, management or administration, education and research domains. Registered nurses and midwives are expected to demonstrate these standards continually within the context of their practice.

Competency is defined as “the knowledge, skills, characteristics and behaviours essential to job performance”.

Other regulatory documents such as the Codes of Professional Conduct and Code of Ethics should be used as an important complementary source of references together with this Core Competency Standards document.

These standards are designed to cover five main core competencies in the profession:

  • Core Competency Standard 1: Legal and Ethical Framework of Practice
  • Core Competency Standard 2: Professional Practice
  • Core Competency Standard 3: Leadership and Management
  • Core Competency Standard 4: Continuous Professional and Personal Development
  • Core Competency Standard 5: Education and Research

These standards reflect the unique characteristic of nursing and midwifery which identify the knowledge, skills and attitudes required by the professions and judgment made to provide safe and effective nursing care in a variety of settings.

Get the latest information on nursing and health by joining our email newsletter. You’ll be the first to know about nursing news, trending topics, and educational resources.

Join 16,237 other subscribers

These core competency standards are intended to:

  • communicate to the public and stakeholders with regards to the professions’ core competency standards in health and related services,
  • encourage the profession to accept accountability and guidance in maintaining the expected standards in providing safe, effective and quality care,
  • ensure nurses and midwives remain accountable and responsible of their actions in maintaining clinical standards for Registration and Practice,
  • determine the eligibility for renewal of Registration and Practicing Certificates,
  • assess the clinical competency performance of nurses and midwives and to measure their fitness to continue practice in Brunei Darussalam.

Standards of Practice for Registered Nurses and Midwives in Brunei


This Standards of Practice for Registered Nurses and Midwives has been developed for nurses and midwives under the Department of Nursing Services, Ministry of Health, Brunei Darussalam. It presents an overall framework for the care and services provided to clients. The Standards of Practice describes in broad term the professional expectation for registered nurses and midwives and apply to all registered nurses and midwives in the clinical practice, managerial, educational (preceptor and mentor) and research positions in Brunei Darussalam.
The Standards of Practice for Registered Nurses and Midwives has eight (8) broad standard statements, a description of the statement and indicators that illustrate how the standard may be demonstrated. To help all registered nurses and midwives apply the standards, there are indicators explained for each position. The eight (8) standards are interrelated and of equal importance and an indicator used to illustrate one standard may also demonstrate the application of other standards. However, the indicators used in this document, are by no means a complete list, or do they apply to registered nurses and midwives at all time

  • Standard 1 ~ Responsibility and Accountability
  • Standard 2 ~ Continuing Competence
  • Standard 3 ~ Ethical Practice
  • Standard 4 ~ Knowledge
  • Standard 5 ~ Evidence-based Practice
  • Standard 6 ~ Leadership
  • Standard 7 ~ Therapeutic Professional Relationship
  • Standard 8 ~ Professional Development

There are four major roles identified which they are responsible and accountable for their actions in nursing and midwifery practice:

  1. Clinical Nurse & Midwife
  2. Manager
  3. Preceptor & Mentor
  4. Researcher

RELATED: Brunei Nursing Jobs Salary Distribution in 2022

1 thought on “Code of Ethics and Standard Conducts for nurses in Brunei”

  1. Pingback: Nursing Board for Brunei - Nursing Media Network

Leave a Reply

New Report


%d bloggers like this: